Smiley face

Events

Find out where the action is happening, get scheduled and get involved.

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Online Event: How new EU laws can help protect people and the planet against corporate abuses

March 2 @ 7:30 am - 9:30 pm UTC-5

HOLDING COMPANIES TO ACCOUNT

How new EU laws can help protect people and the planet against corporate abuses

2nd March 2021 – 7:30 Bogota/ 12:30 London / 13:30 Brussels / 18:00 Delhi

Corporations enjoy unprecedented wealth and power. For years, many have abused that power at immense human and environmental cost. Our legal systems are pitifully inadequate to stop this – governments and citizens have no real legal means to hold companies accountable for the harms they cause.

In a ground-breaking development, the European Commission will propose a new law this year aimed at ensuring that companies stop harming people and the planet, and are held to account when they do.

Communities and workers that have suffered at the hands of companies are urging the Commission to make this law strong enough to reach all the way down supply chains, and allow victims to seek justice in European courts. They have since been backed by a public campaign with more than 450,000 signatures. It’s clear that the ramifications of this law could be huge, and truly global.

On 2nd March, Global Witness will host, in partnership with Anti-Slavery International and the Clean Clothes Campaign, an online conversation between European Union representatives and advocates from Colombia and India who are campaigning for justice for the serious harms inflicted on workers and communities by unscrupulous companies.

Together we will discuss what’s needed to make these new laws strong and enforceable.

Speakers:

  • MEP Lara Wolters, Rapporteur for European Parliament report on Corporate Due Diligence & Corporate Accountability
  • European Commission (speaker TBC)
  • Lourdes Castro, coordinator of Somos Defensores in Colombia
  • Deepika Rao, Programme Director from CIVIDEP in India
  • Hélène de Rengerve, Senior EU Adviser, Anti-Slavery International

 

The talk will be moderated by Rachel Owens, Head of EU Office & Advocacy for Global Witness.

Live interpretation will be available in Spanish, Portuguese and French.

 

Register:

https://act.globalwitness.org/page/75992/subscribe/1

Details

Date:
March 2
Time:
7:30 am - 9:30 pm UTC-5

Organizer

Global Witness